Oct. 22, 2021


Several members of the Graduate College community will be recognized at UNLV’s Academic Achievement Awards ceremony and reception on April 18 and at the Graduate College awards ceremony on May 3.

UNLV Graduate College Outstanding Thesis & Dissertation Awards
Each year the Graduate College awards four awards for outstanding theses and dissertations (within each category, one for STEM and one for non-STEM). This year’s winners are listed below:

Outstanding Thesis (STEM): Jeremy Smallwood, Master of Science, Astronomy
“Secular Resonances during Main-Sequence and Post-Main-Sequence Planetary System Dynamics”

Outstanding Thesis (Non-STEM): Sara Black, Master of Arts, History
“Homeland, Homestead, and Haven: The Changing Perspectives of Zion National Park, 1700-1930”

Outstanding Dissertation (STEM): Tyler Stalbaum, Doctor of Philosophy, Mechanical Engineering
“Ionic Electroactive Polymer Devices: Physics-Based Modeling with Experimental Investigation and Verification”

Outstanding Dissertation (Non-STEM): Cheryl Anderson, Doctor of Philosophy, Anthropology
“The Bioarchaeology of Inequality during the Middle Bronze Age in Central Anatolia

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award
Each year the Graduate College awards three awards for exceptional teaching by UNLV graduate students. This year’s winners are listed below:

1st Place - Matthew Le Claire (College of Liberal Arts)
2nd Place - Erdogan Kaya (College of Education)
3rd Place - Michael Isaacs (School of Life Sciences)

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Leadership Award
The Outstanding Graduate Faculty Leadership Award recognizes graduate faculty who demonstrate leadership by, for example, serving on committees; mentoring graduate students; and engaging in, leading, or significantly advancing efforts that help move the university toward impactful graduate education, research, scholarship, or creative activity. This year’s winner is Dr. Hokwon Cho, Department of Mathematical Sciences.

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentorship
The Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentorship award will be given to Dr. Janet Dufek (Kinesiology). This award recognizes graduate faculty who mentor graduate students in teaching, research and service; provide sound counsel and advocacy on academic and non-academic issues; and guide students toward the successful completion of degrees.

Distinguished Service Medallion
The Distinguished Service Medallion is awarded to those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in service to the Graduate College and our students. This year’s winners are Dr. Kyle Kaalberg (Office of the President), and Sue DiBella (Office of Community Engagement).