William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration

UNLV/Las Vegas Sands Sustainable Hospitality Summit Schedule

  • 9:30 a.m. — Doors Open – Phillip J. Cohen Theatre, Student Union, UNLV Main Campus
  • 10:05 a.m. — Welcome & Introduction of Key Note Speaker
  • 11 a.m. — Announcement of Hospitality Sustainability Student Competition; Vendor Area opens on Pida Plaza outside of Student Union
  • 11:30 a.m. — Lunch Break
  • 1 - 2:00 p.m. — Panel discussion: Sustainable Hospitality
    1. Shawn Seipler, Executive Director and Co-Founder, Clean the World
    2. Hugh Sinnock, Vice President of Customer Experience, Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority
    3. Katarina Tesarova, Executive Director of Sustainability, Las Vegas Sands Corp.
    4. Thomas C. Piechota, Ph.D., P.E., Interim Vice President for Research, Graduate College Dean, Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, UNLV; Moderator
  • 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. — Panel discussion: Sustainability in and around Las Vegas
    1. Tom Perrigo, Chief Sustainability Officer, City of Las Vegas
    2. Daniel Huard, Founding Principal, Humann Building Solutions; Director, Executive Committee President Elect, USGBC Nevada Chapter
    3. Brandon Wiegand, Executive Vice President of Acquisitions and Sales, Focus Commercial Group
    4. Rick Van Diepen, Executive Director, Green Chips; Interim President, LEED AP
    5. Jennifer Turchin, Senior Consultant, Sellen Sustainability; President, Nevada Chapter, USGBC; Moderator
  • 3:30 p.m. — Day Concludes