Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

You are here

College Committees

The College Bylaws identify five standing committees, but allow for the creation of various ad-hoc committees. The committee membership for academic year 2012-2013 is listed below.

Executive Committee*
Chair/Dean Rama Venkat
Associate Dean Mohamed Trabia
Georg Mauer
CE Donald Hayes
CS Laxmi Gewali
ECE Peter Stubberud
ME Woosoon Yim
AFROTC Allen Henderson
ARMY ROTC Neil Oscarson

Standing Committees**

Faculty Affairs Committee
Chair Pushkin Kachroo
CE Jacimaria Batista (Elected 2012-2014)
CS Lawrence Larmore (Elected 2012-2014)
ECE Pushkin Kachroo (Elected 2010-2012, re-elected 2012-2014)
ME Kwang Kim (Elected 2012-2014)
Curriculum Committee
Chair Mohamed Kaseko
CE Mohamed Kaseko (Elected 2011-2013)
CS Lee Misch (Elected 2012-2014)
ECE Sahjendra Singh (Elected 2012-2014)
ME Hui Zhao (Elected 2012-2014)
Academic Standards Committee
Chair Samir Moujaes
CE David Shields (Elected 2011-2013)
CS Kazem Taghva (Elected 2011-2013)
ECE Yahia Baghzouz (Elected 2011-2013)
ME Samir Moujaes (Elected 2011-2013)
Student Dan Siglar (Elected 2011-2013)
College Bylaws Committee
Chair William Culbreth
CE Samaan Ladkany (Elected 2012-2014)
CS Wolfgang Bein (Elected 2010-2012, re-elected 2012-2014)
ECE Shahram Latifi (Elected 2010-2012, re-elected 2012-2014)
ME William Culbreth (Elected 2012-2014)

*Per College Bylaws 2.3.1: The ongoing activities of the College related to faculty, staff, students, and curriculum shall be conducted to a large extent by committees made up of faculty and, in some cases, staff and students. The standing committees of the College shall be the Academic Standards Committee, the Curriculum Committee, the Faculty Affairs Committee, and the College Bylaws Committee. The Executive Committee is a permanent College Committee. The Dean will appoint ad hoc committees as may be required from time to time. The Dean and Associate Deans are non-voting ex officio members of all committees.

**Per College Bylaws 2.3.3: The term of service on a committee shall be for two academic years. Faculty committee members shall be elected/appointed in staggered terms such that about one-half of the membership carries over to the following year. Elections and appointments shall be made near the end of the spring semester to take effect at the start of the fall semester. No more than two consecutive terms of service are permissible. Student members shall be selected as early in the fall semester as possible.